Laws for PWC Drivers under the age of 14 years
A person under the age of 14 may not legally operate a personal watercraft (Wave Runner and Jet Ski) in the state of Michigan.
Laws for PWC Drivers age 14 or 15 years
A person who is 14 or 15 years of age may use a personal watercraft legally on the waters of the state of Michigan only if…
The person is accompanied on board by the person’s parent or legal guardian or by a person at least 21 years of age who has been designated by the parent or legal guardian or….
The person is operating or riding the personal watercraft at a distance of not more than 100 feet from his or her parent or legal guardian or from a person at least 21 years of age who has been designated by the parent or legal guardian.
Safety Education Requirement
Anyone born after December 31, 1979, regardless of age, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate.
A person born on or before December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally without restrictions.